Beauty Articles & Reviews / Bike Blog

Tips For Sporty Gurls! Lets Start With Skincare

Yesterday I did a presentation on skincare, haircare and makeup for the sporty chicks who were taking part in the Singapore Nike She Run. These ladies showed up, fresh faced and in their cool Nike kit, and got to learn about how to take care of their skin, hair, and look their best during their runs and workouts. Since I could only share with a small group of them, I thought it’ll be nice to post up the tips here as well for the rest of you who love sports and working out as much as I do! Let me spill here the secrets (and more!) I shared with them about skincare.

Like my Nike Kit?

Like my Nike Kit?

Sports & Skincare

Many of us who do lots of sports experience skin problems at some point of time. For myself, I get pimples on my Tzone, have rapidly multiplying freckles (I don’t mind them that much actually), and my tattoos itch and swell sometimes(I still haven’t figured the cause of this one out yet, but I think it’s the heat and sweat).  I know others who breakout with eczema, rosacea, fungal infections, acne, pigmentation, wrinkling…and the list goes on.

How do we prevent some of these problems? We need to take precautionary measures and treat any problems we see immediately to prevent it from worsening.

Everyone should have a good skincare regime.
Following a regular skincare routine, no matter how basic, will be more beneficial than ignoring your skin. Know your skin type. Do you have dry, combination, or oily skin?
1. Start with a good cleanser which is suited for your skin type. I use Origins Checks & Balances, but have no qualms about trying other cleansers (be they drugstore or luxury brands) as long as they do a good job of removing grime and dirt from my skin.

Origins-Checks-and-Balances

2. Tone, treat and moisturise your skin. With our skin going through stress from the environment and sun exposure, the skin can lose it’s elasticity, firmness and radiance easily. Try L’Oreal Paris Revitalift Laser X3 Serum for a non-sticky feel.

Loreal Paris Revitalift serum

3. Use sunscreen during the day, especially when out in the sun doing sports. I’m digging the new La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL Dry Touch Gel Cream SPF 50 Sunscreen, because it doesn’t have any sticky feeling, but is also water resistant to last through my workout.

La Roche-Posay Anthelios XL Dry touch gel-cream

I also reminded the girls that although sunscreens claim their water resistance, you must reapply after every few hours, especially if you’ve been swimming, sweating, or wiping your face, as it does rub off.

Don’t forget to also apply on your collarbone & chest, back of neck, and ears – places easily forgotten, I’ve gotten tons of burns there before.

Sunscreens help protect your skin against both UVA & UVB damage, which UVA is the big cause of again! So if you want to prevent wrinkles and sagging, you MUST use sunscreen regularly. Just take a look at Nicole Kidman’s smooth skin.. opps, I guess she also had work done before.. but still, we all know how she avoids the sun and uses lots of sunscreen!

4. Use a scrub on your skin for that extra exfoliation and deep cleansing.
When we workout, use sunscreen, makeup, and for myself, get a face-full of road grime or mud when I’m cycling, it’s best to make sure we get rid of all that after the session. I use Dermalogica’s Daily Microfoliant to get out all that gunk, usually twice to thrice a week, although the folks from Dermalogica say that it’s gentle enough to use daily. Scrubs really help to prevent the buildup of blackheads and whiteheads, while keeping the skin smooth by removing the dead skin cells.

dermalogica daily microfoliant

Okay! So that’s the basic regime I would suggest for you sporty babes who need some ideas. For those who have more severe skin concerns which I mentioned before, like eczema, rosacea or fungal infections, I would suggest that you visit your dermatologist to have them checked out, and get some creams to treat them. Personally I go to Dr. Khoo at Dermatology Associates, but there are also other clinics like the National Skin Centre.

Drop me a note here if you have anymore questions and I’ll try to answer them the best I can!

If you’re running in the Nike She Run on the 11th of May, good luck & push hard!

 

Leave a Reply

