Uncategorized

Learn From The Pros at MAKE UP FOR EVER’s Make Up School

A couple of weeks ago, MAKE UP FOR EVER invited me to experience the Simply Perfect Complexion at their Make Up School in Sephora, Ngee Ann City. I was really keen to have a go at it, mainly because it was a long time since I’ve had anyone give me instruction in makeup, and I actually do like learning new stuff!

As they had also recently released their White Definition Instant Brightening Powder Foundation, the theme of my lesson would be Instant Brightening. You can also choose to learn about the different complexion finishes they have, from matt, to lifting, to natural.

I arrived at the Ngee Ann City Sephora and was pretty amazed at the space that Make Up For Ever had. It wasn’t a counter, it wasn’t a corner, it almost looked like it’s own boutique with it’s own interior decor and space. I was introduced to Amber, who would be my make up coach. I think I must have given her quite abit of pressure once she knew I was a make up artist, but she kept her cool and taught me her tricks! Here’s what I experienced and learnt that day:

Brightly lit tables, stocked with beauty essentials, looking even better than most make up corners at photo studios!

Brightly lit tables, stocked with beauty essentials, looking even better than most make up corners at photo studios!

The decor looks just like a professional studio set, complete with hanging lights, and very industrial-looking brick walls

The decor looks just like a professional studio set, complete with hanging lights, and very industrial-looking brick walls. That table there is a communal area for up to six people to have a lesson together.

We need a clean face for the lesson, so Amber removed all my makeup with Sens’ Eyes. She had a really interesting way of removing my mascara with a couple of layers of tissue, and cotton. You’ll have to book her to learn her trick – I’m not gunna expose it here 😉

My makeup coach first removed my makeup with Sensi'Eyes, a gentle but effective make up remover

My makeup coach first removed my makeup with Sensi’Eyes, a gentle but effective make up remover

The UV Prime SPF 50 is essential in the brightening range, it's moisturising and lightweight, with a fantastic level of protection against UV. I personally like to use this during the day.

The UV Prime SPF 50 is essential in the brightening range, it’s moisturising and lightweight, with a fantastic level of protection against UV. I personally like to use this during the day.

Amber applies the White Definition Powder Foundation using the dual-sided sponge

Amber applies the White Definition Powder Foundation using the dual-sided sponge

Close up of the amount of coverage the foundation offers. You can have a high coverage (which here, hides my freckles, though not completely), or switch to the fluffier side of the sponge for a lighter coverage

Close up of the amount of coverage the foundation offers. You can have a high coverage (which here, hides some of my freckles, though not completely), or switch to the flocked side of the sponge for a lighter coverage

The products: (right) White Definition Instant Brightening Powder Foundation, (left) Sculpting Kit

The products: (right) White Definition Instant Brightening Powder Foundation, (left) Sculpting Kit

The White Definition Instant Brightening Powder Foundation is at $85, which includes the Refillable Magnetic  Case ($20) and a Refill ($65), available in 6 shades – mine was #35.

To contour my face, Amber demonstrates how to apply a sculpting powder under the cheekbones for better definition.

To contour my face, Amber demonstrates how to apply a sculpting powder under the cheekbones for better definition.

Hello, cheekbones!! Both the contouring and highlighting powder in the Sculpting kit are matte , so they look really natural on the skin and don't make it all shiny like bronzers do.

Hello, cheekbones!! Both the contouring and highlighting powder in the Sculpting kit are matte , so they look really natural on the skin and don’t make it all shiny like bronzers do.

(right) The Sculpting Blush in #6 was then applied to me. It looks like a really bright pink but blends out.

(right) The Sculpting Blush in #6 was then applied to me. It looks like a really bright pink but blends out.

A healthy glow created with the Sculpting Blush. Learning how to apply powder blush is easy - try this first before learning to use the HD High Definition Blush by MUFE

A healthy glow created with the Sculpting Blush. Learning how to apply powder blush is easy – try this first before learning to use the HD High Definition Blush by MUFE

My finished look! We did add a little bit of definition to my eyebrows and very light eyeshadow at the end as well. Amber looks stunning! She had been on her feet all day giving lessons.

My finished look! We did add a little bit of definition to my eyebrows and very light eyeshadow at the end as well. Amber looks stunning! She had been on her feet all day giving lessons.

After your lesson, you can always walk around the store and try out their whole range of makeup. I had much fun with their aqua range of eye pencils, and piled on their mascara. The makeup coach’s role here is to educate, and not to hard sell products, so they focus on teaching you techniques instead.

So it seems like you can teach an old dog new tricks! Even as a professional make up artist myself, I did try out techniques and products that I never tried on myself before.

Here are the classes that Make Up For Ever offers. They’re all split into easily digestible sessions of 15 mins, 30 mins, or at the max, 75mins. I bet the smokey eye class is going to be pretty popular!

MAKE UP SCHOOL Brochure

To book your personalised lesson, call Make Up For Ever at 8381 0760. The lessons are available at Sephora Ion & Ngee Ann City.

One thought on “Learn From The Pros at MAKE UP FOR EVER’s Make Up School

  1. Pingback: Recreating A Dramatic Look | Beauty. Bikes.

Leave a Reply

