Bike Blog

What I Ride

All the riding I did as a child and teen aside, I started cycling on 31st October 2011, on a old borrowed Trek 1000.

After riding that bike for about 6 or 7 months, I decided to get a road bike of my own, and that’s where I found Amelia. Yes, I name my bikes (go ahead, I know you’re smirking behind that screen! :P)

The search started in April or May 2013, which had me sweeping through most of the stores in Singapore. Finally trying to decide between the Trek Madone 5 and the Bianchi C2C Infinito had left me very confused.

One day, I was invited to meet up with some riders from a group who were doing some lunchtime shopping at Bikes n Bites. Initially the Cervelo R3 in team colours (Black/ Red) hanging on the wall caught my eye with it’s geometry and price, but thanks to my feng shui master, I’m not to drive (or ride, i  guess) anything in red. Then they showed me the frame in White/Blue. I think I left a part of myself in the store that day. I told them I would think about it, but I went home knowing that it was the one.

The next few weeks was a whirlwind of sourcing for the Campagnolo group set, wheels and all. I purchased the frame from Bikes n Bites, but sourced the majority of the parts online.

Picking the bike up from Bikes N Bites

Picking the bike up from Bikes N Bites

Here’s the breakdown of my current setup:

Frame: Cervelo 2012 R3

Grouppo: Campagnolo Chorus 11

Pedals: Speedplay Zero

Wheels: Campagnolo Khamsin

Saddle: Selle Italia Lady Gel Flow (shown: Bontrager Affinity R WSD)

I do have a dreamlist which I’ll upload one day too 🙂 I’m sure most cyclists have that list somewhere in the back of their mind or already added to a shopping cart online.

Amelia 3

On one of our rides across the border

Down the road (pun intended! lol) I started going onto trails and then had to get myself a mountain bike.. but more on that in my next post 🙂

Ride safe folks, till next time!

3 thoughts on “What I Ride

  1. Beautiful bike. I keep thinking of my “ulitmate” bike – and I’m starting to think about steel frames – either custom or a restored old lugged frame from the 70’s.

    Thanks for shairng.

    • it’s great huh! yeah, I’m also not so much a fan of Sram.. For saddles, have you tried Selle Italia? love their saddles. Or if you like something crazy looking, Selle SMP seems pretty darn comfy.

Leave a Reply

