Beauty Articles & Reviews

Review: L’Oreal Revitalift Laser X3 Serum and Eye Cream

Hitting stores next month is the new L’Oreal Revitalift Laser X3 New Skin Anti-aging range of products, which consists of the Cream moisturiser, Serum and Eye cream. The range is said to be inspired by what Intense Pulsed Light (IPL) does, and offers itself as a (cheaper) alternative to going for such precedures.

The active ingredient that stars in this range is Pro-Xylane, which promises to reduce pores, correct lines and replump skin.

I was given a set of the products to test out, and I tried the serum as well as the eye cream.

loreal revitalift serum eye cream

The serum is supposed to help resurface the skin surface so that the ingredients can penetrate better, while replumping and renewing the skin.

For someone who likes a chopchop skincare routine, I never quite bothered with serums until recent years. Prior to trying out this serum, I was switching between L’oreal Youth Code and Ole Henriksen’s Truth Serum, the latter i couldn’t put on my face during the day because of it’s Vitamin C content. I like it that this product doesn’t have any ingredients (like AHAs) that react to UV, which means that it can be used both in the day and evening. The serum is very fast absorbing, so I can immediately put on my moisturiser. It smells really good too – L’Oreal actually put effort into developing a floral/fruity complex fragrance for this product.

loreal revitalift laser x3 eye cream

distracted by my coral-coloured nails? Ciate Nail Pots in Pom Pom!

The eyecream has an interesting metallic applicator, which feels cooling on application and can be used to massage the cream into the eye area. However, I found it abit hard to get the right amount of product out using the applicator and gave up on that within the first go. I just squeezed out the cream and tapped it on with my ring finger. If you want an effective cooling applicator to de-puff your eyes, just use cold teaspoons!

That being said, the eye cream feels… luxurious on my eyes. Just the right amount of creaminess, balanced with absorption. It hydrates my eye area well and keeps my eye area looking bright.

I didn’t try the moisturiser, but here is a shot of it

loreal revitalift laser x3 cream

Although L’Oreal markets this product as an alternative to IPL for skin renewal, I can’t quite do the comparison, simply because I’ve never IPL’ed my face. However, I can compare some major differences.

Cost: The entire set of Revitalift Laser X3 is S$121.70(individual prices below), while one session of IPL at SAC administered by an aesthetics doctor is S$375.

Time spent: An IPL treatment takes 20 mins, and you need to protect your skin from UV light for the next few days. Applying skincare takes.. maybe, 5-10 mins a day, and you STILL need to apply sunblock. But although IPL claims no downtime, patients normally have abit of a redness on their skin immediately after treatments

Results: IPL promises to lighten freckles and age spots, and revitalise the skin. I have met people who do frequent IPLs and they do have very good skintone. Using a skincare product, however, takes time and dedicated use to see effects.

Pain factor: Bit of pinpricks for IPL vs zero pain using skincare

Verdict? Don’t expect immediate IPL -type results. Use this if you want to embark on a trusty anti-aging skincare regime that won’t bust your budget.

If you’ve done IPL on your face, share with me your experience, and leave me a comment! If you’ve got any comments about this product, drop me a note too :)

L’Oreal Revitalift Laser X3 New Skin Anti-Aging Range

Cream: S$39.90

Serum: S$49.90

Eye Cream: S$37.90

Available from March 2013 in Singapore

One thought on “Review: L’Oreal Revitalift Laser X3 Serum and Eye Cream

Leave a Reply

